Chocolate And Rum

December 14, 2011

I ate way too much today. It’s easy to do that sometimes. Something came over me, I threw caution to the wind, and stuffed myself. I eat when I need to comfort myself, and I’m missing somebody very special right now, so I hope that someone gets home soon, otherwise I’ll end up becoming a Mauritanian Beauty. Not really. It’d be difficult to gain that much weight in three days.

The sad part is, even though I’m stuffed like a turkey, I would eat that Chocolate Mousse again in the blink of an eye. Easily the best Chocolate Mousse I’ve ever tasted, a breeze to make, and NO SUGAR! You know you want this, it has rum in it; so set aside an hour to slap this together and enjoy with some homemade whipped cream.

Chocolate Mousse

Makes 5

1 cup semisweet or dark chocolate, chopped

1/4 cup dark-brewed coffee

4 large eggs, separated

1 teaspoon rum

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/8 teaspoon sea salt

Heat a medium-sized saucepan one-third full with hot water until lightly simmering. Place heat-proof bowl on top and melt together chocolate and coffee, stirring constantly until smooth. Remove from heat.

Whisk the egg yolks and rum together until very thick (you can also do this in an electric mixer on medium-high speed for three minutes). Fold the chocolate mixture into the egg yolks.

Beat the egg whites, salt, and vanilla until the whites form soft peaks. Being careful not to over mix, fold the beaten egg whites into the chocolate mixture.

Spoon into five 6-oz dishes, cover, and refrigerate for three hours.

For Whipped Topping

1 cup chilled heavy cream

1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat together heavy cream, sugar, and vanilla in electric mixer on medium-low speed for one minute until frothy. Increase mixer speed to high, and continue to beat until mixture forms soft peaks, about three minutes.

Spoon onto chilled Mousse, and sprinkle lightly with cocoa powder.

(recipe modified from TasteSpotting)

~Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

